top of page

Dream Catcher Composite image | Throwback Thursday

Three years ago I received a unique and exciting inquiry from a local shop owner. She was expecting her second daughter and wanted some special newborn and maternity photos highlighting her craft. Sophie is a very talented artisan who specializes in custom dreamcatchers! You can find her beautiful work here. She spent her pregnancy making 2 giant dreamcatchers for her maternity and newborn sessions. We spoke for several weeks before we met for the first time and I knew it was going to be amazing, but I had no idea how amazing. For her maternity session I met her, her husband and their daughter at Torry Pines State Beach for some gorgeous sunset portraits. Sophie brought her giant dreamcatcher for a few solo photos of her belly. About a month later she called to tell me that baby had been born and she was ready for me to come visit them for their newborn photos. Sophie had found a tutorial on Pinterest for how to make a dreamcatcher with a seat in it with tons of inspiration for newborns on these props. We both did our research and came together prepared to capture images that are still (three years later) some of my favorites!

Pregnant mom holding giant dream catcher at Torrey Pines State Beach at Sunset. Photo by Tiny Turtles Photography in San Diego CA.

This was the first time I had attempted a composite image. I read a lot about how to be successful, and practiced before I arrived. I was nervous, but it turned out great! I couched the parents on how to safely pose their baby on the prop and then we quickly took photos. When I got home I couldn't wait to edit these photos! I spent a lot of time making them just perfect, and I was thrilled with the outcome. This was the first image that I blew up for my studio space. Even before a photo of my own kids! I love it that much!

Newborn baby sleeping on giant dream catcher with white feathers. Photo is a composite image of several images pieced together to make one. Hands were on baby the entire time. Photo by Tiny Turtles Photography in San Diego CA.

I never would have planned this session on my own because I don't know how to make a dreamcatcher! But I love that Sophie, had a passionate plan and put that plan into action. The fact that this image is so meaningful to her really makes this picture that much more special. Contact me early in your pregnancy so I can help you incorporate your passion into your session!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page