top of page

Annie the first posed newborn turns five | Throw Back Thursday | El Cajon Studio Newborn Photography

I can hardly believe that I started this journey five years ago! I have grown so much since I first photographed this sweet girl, but I still love her photos. Especially this black and white image of her with her daddy. This was his idea, and I just love it so much! It's a classic, never go out of style portrait.

Black and white photo of a newborn girl snuggled in daddy's hands. Photo taken by Tiny Turtles Photography in San Diego CA

While Annie was the first newborn that I tried to pose like the pinterest inspirations, her photos obviously weren't the first I had ever taken.

I grew up loving photography. I was given many disposable cameras as a little girl and I had the best time posing my dolls and barbies for mini photoshoots. In middle school I started scrapbooking with my mom and her and I spent tons of time making our photos into works of art. Then in high school I got my first film camera which I'm pretty positive was a hand me down, but I could care less. I took photo as an elective in school and I always had my camera with me. I took rolls and rolls of film and spent even more time at the local scrapbook store creating books upon books of memories.

When I got my first job, I put every paycheck straight into my parents bank account for what felt like years, until I had paid off my first car. After that I just kept depositing money into the bank, not even thinking about spending it until I had a nice savings built up. One day I realized that I could buy a nice camera. So I did. I bought a super nice SLR with all of the bells and whistles. I technically knew how to use it, but never used it to it's full potential. It stayed on auto, and I loved the photos I was able to capture with it. Soon after I graduated from high school Mark and I got married. I was a full time college student, but as much as I wanted to I could never justify taking a photography class. I don't remember if it was the scheduling, or if it just wouldn't fill a general ed requirement for my degree. I was determined to complete my bachelors degree in four years, so there wasn't anytime for extra classes.

Life went on, and when we were expecting our fist baby Mark bought me my first digital SLR camera. I was so surprised and excited! I never learned to use that camera well, it was so different from the film cameras I was used to and I just couldn't get the look I was hoping for. It stayed in auto until several years later I decided to pull it out and really try to learn how to use it. It was old by then, probably about 5 years old. Digital cameras had become so much more accessible and I couldn't really find any tutorials online about how to use it well. So I made the big decision to buy a new base model Nikon camera. Once I had that DSLR it was on. I learned quickly how to use the manual settings and never looked back to auto.

After several months of taking constant photos of my boys I sent out a call to my Facebook friends, "My boys are sick of my camera in their faces, would anyone else's kids like to volunteer?" Along comes sweet Annie and I fell in love with posed newborn photography. I have not stopped pursuing and learning how to fine tune my craft. I am no where near where I want to be, but I can very clearly see the progress and growth.

Newborn girl posed on her belly a black backdrop with a bright pink headband on. Photo taken by Tiny Turtles Photography in San Diego CA

Newborn girl sleeping soundly on a black backdrop focusing on her cute nose. Photo taken by Tiny Turtles Photography in San Diego CA

Newborn toes on a black backdrop. Photo taken By Tiny Turtles Photography in San Diego CA

My work is quite different now than it was five years ago. I am happy to say that I have been spending these years studying and fine-tuning my craft. You can find recent work posted on my Facebook Page.

If you're interested in booking a newborn session please send me an e-mail or message me on Facebook so we can start planning your session today!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page